English Chinese (Simplified) Urdu


As a consequence of partition of the Indo-Pakistan Sub-Continent in 1947, India and Pakistan became two independent sovereign states. The Irrigation System which existed at the time of partition in 1947 was divided between the two countries without any regards to the irrigation boundaries resulting in an international water dispute which was resolved by signing of the Indus Water Treaty in 1960 under the aegis of World Bank. The Treaty assigned three Eastern rivers (Ravi, Beas and Sutlej) to India and three Western rivers (Indus, Jhelum & Chenab) to Pakistan. It also provided construction of replacement works called Indus Basin Project (IBP) to compensate for perpetual loss of Eastern river's water. The works proposed under the Treaty included two multipurpose dams from one of which is Tarbela Dam on Indus river having the provision of Power Generation.

Award of contract May 14 1968
Construction 1968 – 1976

In Pictures

Read 35628 times